A Report

The Indian Navy FOTNA Trophy 2018 was sailed as a three-day event on 27-29 April, at Chennai in the ocean North of the shipping channel. As expected, the month of April/May offered challenges and opportunities for sailors with winds that consistently blew in excess of 15 knots, and sometimes gusted upwards of 20+ knots. The sea state was great for dingy and keel boat racing - the swell exceeded 1.5 m. on most days.

The regatta was sailed in the Pursuit Format [using the Portsmouth numbers] in the open sea on either side of the shipping channel and the series was held as a 6 race series - each race was for an hour. The event saw 62 sailors from different parts of the country including Mumbai, Vishakapatnam, Pondicherry, Bangalore, Hyderabad and Chennai

The fleet was 22 boats strong in 6 different classes including the Laser, 420, N.T, 470, Sea Bird, J 80. Based on their Pursuit Number Rating, the boats had a staggered start – their handicap being assigned by the Internationally Accepted Portsmouth Handicap

For the first time In Chennai, a keel boat race was held and a few J 80 and two ocean going yachts raced

The results were declared in different categories as below


FOTNA Novice cup
Winners Divik (HIMT) Archana, Pravin, Darshana (MCC)
First runner-up1 Aravind, Jayashree (MBC) Anjali (PSA) Dvijender (HIMT)
Second runner-up Karuna, Abhishek & Fredrick (HIMT)
Winners Amit Kalra, RMYC
PK Racing cup – for J80 Class
Winners Chinna Reddy led Team EMESA
First runner-up1 Vishnu Led – Team Vishnu
Second runner-up Vivek Shanbhag led – Team PK Sailing
FOTNA Keel Boat cup for J80, Benateau, Bavaria
Winners Murugan, Vivek Shanbhag, Nitya, Varun, Sahoo, Chitresh on J80
FOTNA Cup Individual for 420, laser, 470, Enterprise
Winners Deep Rekhi / Vidya – RMYC - 420
First runner-up1 Praveen Kumar/ Sudhanshu Shekar INWTC Mumbai - 470
Second runner-up Himanshu Yadav – INWTC Mumbai - Laser
FOTNA Cup Team Event J80 & Sea Bird
Winners Chinna Reddy led TEAM EMESA
First runner-up1 Vishnu led – Team Vishnu
Second runner-up Vivek Shanbhag led – TEAM PK Sailing
Download detailed race results

The prize giving ceremony was held at the INS Adyar on the Northern most end of Marina Beach in a beautifully arranged set with dignitaries from the Navy and Port giving away the prizes. The audience included personnel from the armed forces, the Tamil Nadu government and yacht’s men. Vice Admiral Karambir Singh, Flag Officer Commanding in chief, Eastern Naval Command graced the occasion as the Chief Guest.

Some of us grew up in the sailing fraternity being often reminded that the RMYC stands on a few pillars of which the Navy is one of the most prominent. The Navy’s commitment to the sport and the Club to promote the sport of sailing is truly appreciated.

Officers and men from the Naval ships in port provided the much-needed Rescue support in their Gemini, RIB and FIC boats. The entire Regatta was incident free notwithstanding the very challenging conditions.

Rear Admiral Alok Bhatnagar, Flag Officer Commanding Tamilnadu and Puducherry Naval Area, a renowned yachtsman, was the Chairman of the Regatta Organising Team and the sailing community is grateful to him for the excellent arrangements.

Click for more images

Copyright © 2018 · All Rights Reserved · rmyc